MVS
BasicsGrundlagen

How do I read EPA, DHA and DPA on the label correctly?

Direct answer

Watch three things: which reference unit the values relate to, whether EPA and DHA are reported separately, and whether DPA is stated at all.

The same milligram figures mean something entirely different depending on the reference unit.

MVS RedaktionPublished 2026-10-076 min readReviewed on 2026-09-20Reviewed by: Fachliche Prüfung MVS
Back to omega-3 knowledge
On this page

The reference unit decides

Whether a value refers to one capsule, two capsules or 5 ml changes the result several times over.

Four points checkable on any label

  • Find the reference unit of the figures
  • Add EPA and DHA separately
  • Check DPA — often not reported
  • Set total omega-3 in relation to the serving

Product data compared

Structured product disclosures — missing values stay visible.

FactValue per product
Format
MVS Omega-3 KapselNORSAN Omega-3 Pure FlüssigZinzino BalanceOil+ Flüssig
Serving size
MVS Omega-3 2 KapselnNORSAN Omega-3 Pure 5 mlZinzino BalanceOil+ 10 ml
Total omega-3 per serving
MVS Omega-3 1000 mgNORSAN Omega-3 Pure 2000 mgZinzino BalanceOil+ 1400 mg
EPA per serving
MVS Omega-3 660 mgNORSAN Omega-3 Pure 1160 mgZinzino BalanceOil+ 700 mg
DHA per serving
MVS Omega-3 280 mgNORSAN Omega-3 Pure 760 mgZinzino BalanceOil+ 400 mg
DPA per serving
MVS Omega-3 60 mgNORSAN Omega-3 Pure Not publicly disclosedZinzino BalanceOil+ Not publicly disclosed
Concentration in the oil
MVS Omega-3 85 %NORSAN Omega-3 Pure 40 %Zinzino BalanceOil+ 30 %
Molecular form
MVS Omega-3 rTGNORSAN Omega-3 Pure TGZinzino BalanceOil+ TG
Capsule
MVS Omega-3 transparente KapselNORSAN Omega-3 Pure Not publicly disclosedZinzino BalanceOil+ Not publicly disclosed
Packaging
MVS Omega-3 einzeln versiegelte WochenportionenNORSAN Omega-3 Pure FlascheZinzino BalanceOil+ Flasche

Values come from the reviewed product records. Missing values stay visible — they are not a quality judgement.

Why DPA is often missing

DPA occurs in smaller amounts and is not reported separately by many providers. A missing figure is no proof of absence.

What a complete disclosure contains

Serving sizee.g. 2 capsules
EPAamount per serving
DHAamount per serving
DPAamount per serving, where reported
Total omega-3sum per serving

Transparency & corrections

This article names its source, status and review date. If you find an error you can submit a correction — it is reviewed, never applied automatically.

Author
MVS Redaktion
Scientific review
Fachliche Prüfung MVS
Published
2026-10-07
Last reviewed
2026-09-20
Submit a correction

Continue in the knowledge system